Canapprove WHATSAPP

The much awaited two new Australian regional work visas all set to be launched in November

Australian regional work visas

The two much awaited Australian regional work visas will be launched in November 2019. These temporary Australian regional work visas–Skilled Work Regional (subclass 491) and Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional visa (subclass 494) — will replace the existing visa sub classes 489 and 187. Together, both the new visas would offer 23000 places every year. The holders of these new Australian regional work visas are expected to work and stay in the designated regional areas for a certain period in order to be eligible to apply for permanent residence in Australia.
According to Australia immigration experts, Subclass 491 is one of the much awaited Australian regional work visas and will give the holders a chance to live and work in regional Australia for up to five years. After three years of stay and paid work in the designated regional area, they can apply for permanent residence. The subclass 491 visa will replace the 489 visa which will cease to exist from 16th November. States and territories have already stopped issuing invitations to apply for 489 visa from 11th September 2019.
Australian regional work visa Subclass 491
This soon-to-be-introduced Australian regional work visa is a temporary visa for skilled workers with a validity of five years. This point-based visa requires the candidate to have either a state nomination or sponsorship from an eligible family member settled in the designated regional area.
Key features

  • 14000 places to be allocated under this visa every year
  • Over 500 eligible occupations
  • Maximum age of applicants: 45
  • Validity of visa: 5 years
  • Candidate becomes eligible to apply for PR after living and working in the designated regional area for at least three years

How is Subclass 491 visa is different from 489 visa(ceased)?
Under Subclass 489 visa, the holders were able to apply for Australia PR after two years of living and working in the designated regional area. But under Subclass 491 visa, candidates will have to wait for three years before they would be able to apply for PR. The new Australian regional work visa subclass 491 covers more regional areas compared to the 489 visa. The 491 visa holders can live in all areas except metropolitan Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Perth. The newly added areas include Newcastle, Wollongong and NSW Central coast.
Besides, under the new Subclass 491 visa, unmarried and single applicants will get extra points. Applicants with eligible relative sponsors and skilled partners with competent English would also earn more points.
Subclass 491 visa point system

Criteria Points
 Skilled partner or spouse 10 points
A spouse or partner with competent English 5 points
Single status 10 points
Nomination from a state or territory 15 points
Sponsorship by a family member residing in designated regional area 15 points
Certain STEM qualifications 10 points

Interested in Australia migration? Explore the vast opportunities that Australia regional migration offers to make your dream come true. CanApprove is a registered Australia immigration consultancy with years of experience in assisting hundreds of immigrants to make live and work in Australia. Contact us for more information, get in touch with us now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Send Us An Enquiry

Enter your details below and we'll call you back when it suits you.

    [honeypot 953b1362b63bd3ecf68]

    Enquire Now Call Now