Canapprove WHATSAPP

New changes to points test for Australia General Skilled Migration!


Australia has recently introduced a few important changes to the Points Test for General Skilled Migration visas. The changes, that will come into effect on November 16, 2019, are relevant to existing Subclass 489, Skilled Independent – 189 and State Nominated Subclass – 190. The changes to the points test will also be relevant for the new Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 visa, which will also commence in 16 November 2019.

Points are awarded in Australia General Skilled Migration for eligibility factors that are linked with the applicant’s ability to make the greatest economic contribution to the Australian economy, as the Australian government’s key purpose of the skilled migration program is to maximize the economic benefits of migration to Australia.

However, in order to apply for the Skilled State (190) or Regional Nominated (190) visas, the applicants are still required to be nominated by a State or Territory. The applicant would also need to have a full skills assessment in an occupation that is on the State or Territory Skilled Occupation List.

By introducing these changes, the immigration authorities of Australia aim to ease the congestion in Australian cities and make more immigrants live and work in regional areas. The changes also indicate that Australian immigration gives preference to applicants who have a skilled partner competent in English or those who have no partner at all.

The major changes to the Points Test are:

  • Applicants will receive 10 points for Specialist Educational qualifications. Currently, the applicants receive only 5 points for this criterion.
  • Applicants with a skilled spouse or de facto partner will receive 10 points. However, the spouse must meet certain criteria. They must be below the age of 45 and be competent in English. They must undertake suitable skills assessment and their occupation must be on the same skilled occupation list. Currently, applicants with a skilled spouse get only 5 points.
  • Applicants who do not have a spouse or de facto partner, or who have a spouse or de facto partner who is an Australian citizen or a Permanent resident will receive 10 points. This new criterion has been added as part of the newly announced changes
  • Another new addition is 5 points for applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who has competent English
  • Applicants nominated by a State or Territory government, or sponsored by an eligible family member will receive 15 points. These points are awarded to applicants for a Subclass 489 visa or the new Subclass 491 visa. At present, these candidates receive only 10 points.

If all points except the partner qualifications are equal, the invitations will be ranked as below:

First: Applicants with a skilled spouse or de facto partner.

Equal First: Applicants without a spouse or de facto partner.

Second: Applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who demonstrates Competent English but who does not have the skills to obtain skilled partner points.

Third: Applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who is ineligible for either competent English or Skilled partner points.

Though the changes will come into effect only on 16th November 2019, the early legislation will help the potential immigrants to make their plans by the end of the year. However, it is important to check whether you are better or worse off as an immigration applicant after the change.

Contact us to know your options to migrate to Australia!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Send Us An Enquiry

Enter your details below and we'll call you back when it suits you.

    [honeypot 953b1362b63bd3ecf68]

    Enquire Now Call Now